[E-Book] ☆ Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1) | By Þ Dirk Manning #2020


  • Title: Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1)
  • Author: Dirk Manning
  • ISBN: 0001607061562
  • Page: 167
  • Format: Paperback

  • Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1) By Dirk Manning Psychological horror in the vein of The Twilight Zone and Tales from the Crypt In this first Definitive Collection of stories from the acclaimed online comic series, we delve into a world of ghostly lovers, demonic abductors, vengeful victims, and sexy Cthulhu priestesses as these loosely connected stories weave an epic tale of a world not unlike our own where nothing iPsychological horror in the vein of The Twilight Zone and Tales from the Crypt In this first Definitive Collection of stories from the acclaimed online comic series, we delve into a world of ghostly lovers, demonic abductors, vengeful victims, and sexy Cthulhu priestesses as these loosely connected stories weave an epic tale of a world not unlike our own where nothing is what it seems Welcome to Nightmare World Written by Write Or Wrong Newsarama columnist Dirk Manning, featuring remastered art, extras, and a new in continuity prose story.
    Dirk Manning
    Dirk Manning is best known as the writer creator of comic series such as TALES OF MR RHEE Devil s Due Publishing and NIGHTMARE WORLD Image Comics Shadowline.Dirk is also the author of the ongoing inspirational column book collection WRITE OR WRONG A WRITER S GUIDE TO CREATING COMICS Caliber Bleeding Cool.More of Dirk s gripping and exciting stories can be read in comic titles such as Dia de los Muertos and The Legend of Oz The Wicked West Vol Four The Golden Cap Aspen Big Dog Ink among various other anthologies.Don t let Dirk s penchant for writing horror comics and his tongue in cheek publicity photo with the black hat and scarf fool you, as he s a very amicable and approachable guy both online and at the numerous convention appearances and book signings he attends every year.Dirk s signing and convention schedule is regularly updated at DirkManning and when he s not on the road or writing he can be found interacting with readers and friends at Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr Cthulhu is his homeboy.

    Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1) By Dirk Manning

    Commentaires:

    HFK
    I picked up all of the three volumes out of the Nightmare World series at s sale the other day as I have missed some solid horror in my reading days, and what would be a better way to experience it than through drawn short stories of terror, blood and guts.First volume collects 13 tales of uneven stories that most lack the much needed psychologically bloody touch of dread, and most suffer from the lack of satisfying wrapping up, a good ending that is often challenging to do when something is bui [...]

    Dawn
    I picked this up along with volumes 2 3 from the writer himself at a comic con a couple years ago and it finally made its way to the top of the reading pile The stories are short 8 pages each , but well developed and well written I like the way they re related, but not directly And there s a good build up of suspense The artwork is impressive too and there s a good variety of it, with each story illustrated by a different artist Anyone into graphic novels and horror will easily get into this col [...]

    Dimitris
    Oh well.If you wanna read something Nightmarish, or gore y, or scary, or dark and gritty, or with horror and mystery Do NOT read this collection of short stories.Nope Nothing like that, although that s what is being set out to be, but it s not Just a bunch of stories with bad, mostly mediocre artwork and maybe one or two decent works in.Wasn t worth it.

    Patrick
    A series of wildly different 6 8 page short stories in the Horror genre I really enjoyed all three volumes of this, despite the fact that I m not really into short fiction or horror as a rule Fun reads.

    Krystl Louwagie
    These were extremely short stories about 8 pages each in graphic novel form Although they were supposed to be tales of terror not all of them were some of them were just interesting stories There were links between multiple stories, but not always obvious ones, so it was fun to find those links, and to see understand the bigger picture of all the smaller stories Still, the small stories were enjoyable in themselves It moved so fast and kept the reader interested the whole time For the most part, [...]

    Shannon
    This is the first graphic novel I have read by Dirk Manning, and it definitely won t be the last This collection features 13 different tales filled with humor and horror Nightmare World Volume 1 has a wonderful mix of stories and genres, from 80 s type horror, to the psychological, and from video games to sci fi to heaven and hell I really enjoyed all the stores in this book My favorites were Knee Deep in the Dead 80 s style horror , Try Honesty dark, psychological tale , The Day I Tried to Live [...]

    Lloyd
    WowDo I think horror as a genre rocks Yeah, pretty much Have I ever been into horror comics No.That said, do I think comic books rock Yeah, they re a huge part of my life.Have I ever read any comics that were in an anthology format Very, very few.All THAT said Would I ever think that I would absolutely LOVE a graphic novel that s a horror anthology Nope But I really, really doDirk Manning has put forth a genius collection here Not only does he employ diverse themes such as sci fi, existentialism [...]

    Elizabeth Amber Love
    When I received a copy of NIGHTMARE WORLD volumes 1 2, I was apprehensive I don t like terrifying horror AT ALL I don t like being scared But one thing I have learned in comics is that there are varying levels of the horror genre from comedic zombies to gory slasher torture porn NIGHTMARE WORLD falls in middle but leans towards comedy at times for which I am grateful Dirk Manning pokes fun at all the horror movie stereotypes but then channels his inner Gaiman by creating short stories that actua [...]

    Stewart Tame
    Normally horror anthologies are somewhat spotty in quality But this one doesn t have that problem as they re all written by one person Dirk Manning This is a decent horror series with a nice mix of funny and scary Supposedly all of the stories tie together into one larger narrative but it s a little hard to see that in this first volume I expect future volumes to actively link everything, though there is a bit of that going on even in these early stages The production quality on this book could [...]

    J.M. Guillemette
    This collection of short horror stories done in graphic novel form is awesome I picked up all three volumes of Nightmare World at C2E2 2013 after a few of my friends raved about it Met Dirk Manning at the same time and he is a really great guy Also he is an outstanding cheese chukker I loved the ending of Knee Deep in the Dead but you have to pick up a copy to find out why Trust me, once you get your hands on this you won t want to stop.

    Rodney Wilder
    A brilliantly and beautifully arranged collection of diverse comics All sharing a common thread, like pieces of a massive puzzle, the stories shift from dark and horrific to strangely eerie to ironically comical They depict a world not unlike our own, but just a few steps ahead A definite collector s item for any fan of horror fiction or Lovecraftian comics.

    Laura
    Some stories were better than others, which is pretty normal for a collection of stories My favorites were Freak on a Leash and Violet I met the author at IndyPopCon and purchased the next 2 books in the series, so I m looking forward to reading them

    DaViD´82
    T in ctero kr tk ch a je t krat ch dern ch pov dek nap horrorov mi sub nry v jednohubce na p l hodiny N kter p b hy v n a jin odleh en V t ina dobr dn vysloven patn A ani dn hoden zapamatov n.

    Kevin
    Wow, last story Violet was incredibly powerful Glad that I grabbed this one off the shelf.

    James
    Full Review on HorrorTalk horrortalk comic revie

    • [E-Book] ☆ Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1) | By Þ Dirk Manning
      167 Dirk Manning
    • thumbnail Title: [E-Book] ☆ Nightmare World, Vol. 1: 13 Tales Of Terror (Nightmare World, #1) | By Þ Dirk Manning
      Posted by:Dirk Manning
      Published :2020-05-06T17:26:33+00:00