[☆ Carrying the Torch: Stories || ↠ PDF Read by ✓ Brock Clarke] #2020


  • Title: Carrying the Torch: Stories
  • Author: Brock Clarke
  • ISBN: 9780803215511
  • Page: 291
  • Format: Hardcover

  • Carrying the Torch: Stories By Brock Clarke The stories in this collection occupy a world at once as familiar as a suburban backyard or a southern college s hallowed football field and as strange as a man who buys Savannah, Georgia, and tries to turn it into the perfect Southern city as part of his attempt to win back his estranged wife The fictional territory of Carrying the Torch, is in short, Brock Clarke s, oneThe stories in this collection occupy a world at once as familiar as a suburban backyard or a southern college s hallowed football field and as strange as a man who buys Savannah, Georgia, and tries to turn it into the perfect Southern city as part of his attempt to win back his estranged wife The fictional territory of Carrying the Torch, is in short, Brock Clarke s, one in which the surreal and the hilarious share a neighborhood with the painfully real and the sweetly ironic Here readers will encounter characters dislocated by work and love, by huge losses and life s small dramas, men and women who have migrated South in search of redemption or at least in the hope of leaving the worst behind In these tales about what people try to leave and find they can t, about the lies we tell the people we love and the myths we create to make life livable, Marly Swick cites an exceptional originality as well as an amazing emotional resonance, a haunting quality Notable for their balance of sentiment and restraint, the music of their language, and the haunting human longing that coexists with the irony and the humor, as Lee Martin remarks, these remarkable stories carry forward a tradition reaching from Flannery O Connor to John Cheever and Donald Barthelme and arrive at a brilliance all their own.
    Brock Clarke
    Brock Clarke is the author of three previous books The Ordinary White Boy and two story collections His stories and essays have appeared in the Virginia Quarterly Review, OneStory, the Believer, the Georgia Review, and the Southern Review and have appeared in the annual Pushcart Prize and New Stories from the South anthologies and on NPR s Selected Shorts He lives in Portland, Maine, and teaches creative writing at Bowdoin College.

    Carrying the Torch: Stories By Brock Clarke

    Commentaires:

    Marvin
    Interesting stories, mostly, that sometimes grow a little too superficial or a little too bogged down in thickish language Sometimes feel a bit empty, of the process than the result Good bit of divorce, relationship failure The title story s character vowing to rip off her cheating husband s penis the themed parties of The Reason Was Us The Catholic and economic survivors of The Apology the put upon husband son brother keeping secrets through his family s getaway to their summer cabin the dim c [...]

    Djrmel
    I knew Brock Clarke was a better writer than one would think from reading An Arsonist s Guide to Writers Homes in New England This collection of short stories shows that Clarke can allow his characters to be the stars of their own stories and not force them into contrived situations that might be best seller fodder but isn t all that interesting In every one of these stories we are exposed to unhappy people who either are trying to fix their unhappiness or, in the case of my favorite story, The [...]

    Sean Cooney
    Brock Clarke teaches creative writing in my hometown of Cincinnati at UC I read about him in Citybeat, our local entertainment magazine, and he s become one of those random discoveries I love to share with my friends I read his first short story collection, What We Won t Do, and his novel, The Ordinary White Boy They we both great, but this collection of short stories is even better.Clarke s view of the world is skeptical and self deprecating He paints characters who surely echo himself who eith [...]

    Ginger ♥
    This was an interesting series of short stories The beginning story is one of my favorites, but they all bring something to the book in it s entirety Every story had a humorous sorrow to it about lives torn apart told in some strangely hud way It was an enjoyable book for me despite the strange combination of moods.

    Suzanne
    I read Clarke s story The Apology in the Pushcart Prize anthology and loved it so much I had to get the collection The Apology is still one of my favorite stories of all time, and the rest of the book is funny, sad, unsentimental, and deeply affecting.

    Yeti
    Any collection of short stories that opens with the image of a severed male appendage being transported around a suburban neighborhood as though it were the Olympic torch hence the title is definitely a must read At times humorous, satirical and grotesque.

    Lorie Kleiner Eckert
    This guy was my creative writing professor at UC Many of these stories touch upon infidelity and the loss of a child making me wonder what s up in this guy s real life It makes me sympathetic to him than I was when I was in his class and found him so hard to deal with

    Beth
    These are funny, sometimes surreal stories of suburban alienation, in the vein of A.M Homes or Wells Tower David Gates who compared Clarke to a contemporary Cheever and George Singleton wrote the cover blurbs very appropriate.

    Elisabeth
    Hilarious novel in the newness of it, not the form

    Stephanie
    I love short stories, and Brock Clarke is a fine practitioner of the form His stories are funny, somewhat loopy People living in the shadow and substance of academia are his subjects.

    • [☆ Carrying the Torch: Stories || ↠ PDF Read by ✓ Brock Clarke]
      291 Brock Clarke
    • thumbnail Title: [☆ Carrying the Torch: Stories || ↠ PDF Read by ✓ Brock Clarke]
      Posted by:Brock Clarke
      Published :2020-05-12T20:04:33+00:00